Book Review: Just Between Us


I want to thank NetGalley and the publishers for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review. I appreciate this opportunity and all views and opinions expressed are my own.

Amazon

Goodreads

Rating: 4 Stars

Four suburban mothers and friends conspire to cover up a deadly crime in this heart-stopping novel of suspense in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and Lisa Unger.

Alison, Julie, Sarah, Heather. Four friends living the suburban ideal. Their jobs are steady, their kids are healthy. They’re as beautiful as their houses. But each of them has a dirty little secret, and hidden behind the veneer of their perfect lives is a crime and a mystery that will consume them all.

Everything starts to unravel when Alison spots a nasty bruise on Heather’s wrist. She shares her suspicions with Julie and Sarah, compelling all three to investigate what looks like an increasingly violent marriage. As mysterious injuries and erratic behavior mount, Heather can no longer deny the abuse, but she refuses to leave her husband. Desperate to save her, Alison and the others dread the phone call telling them that she’s been killed. But when that call finally comes, it’s not Heather who’s dead. In a moment they’ll come to regret, the women must decide what lengths they’ll go to in order to help a friend.

Just Between Us is a thrilling glimpse into the underbelly of suburbia, where not all neighbors can be trusted, and even the closest friends keep dangerous secrets. You never really know what goes on in another person’s mind, or in their marriage.

Man, this book was intense! You could really feel the tension and the suspense all the way from beginning to end with this read! I was excited when the publishers granted my wish for this title but was even more excited with the results.

This book takes you on a wild ride of 4 different ladies’ thoughts and psyches and the result was quite chilling! This book will make you question what people really do think about you, when they say another thing!

The reason I am not giving this book 5 Stars is because at times it was very hard for me, personally, to keep up with everything. This story is told from all four of the women’s narratives and maybe I am just a bit slow (hehe) but I had difficulty keeping up at times.

Overall, this was one fantastic read that I would recommend to someone who is looking for a great psychological drama novel!

Thanks for checking out my blog!!!

24 Comments on “Book Review: Just Between Us

  1. Dani! My God, why has it been so long since I commented on your blog.. Shoot me?
    [Life is busy and hectic – I did read your posts and I hope you’re doing a LOT better, woman! Don’t let all negativity kick your butt!]

    This book doesn’t sound like my usual reads but it sounds intriguing nonetheless. Kind of giving me a a bit of a Desperate Housewives-vibe with some bigger secrets in the mix?
    I can imagine multiple POV’s being confusing at times. Especially if maybe the characters don’t have their obvious unique voices – don’t know if that was the case here – but it makes sense. If they all sounds alike, it’s logical one isn’t able to follow the story entirely, haha.

    Awesome review! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh it’s okay, Ms. Munchies! I don’t think I have commented in a bit on yours as well!😄 I appreciate you reading my blog. Maybe it’s the meds or maybe it’s because I am half asleep but your ending of your paragraph confused the shit out of me! Lol😂 I check out your bloggy blog and Bookstagram too! Sorry Inj haven’t veen my usual bubbly and spamming up your notifications self lately just been life here as well! Back to the book, that totally makes sense when their personalities don’t stick out. That was kind of the case here. I mean all the women were different but still too much switchy for me at some points but overall I really enjoyed it. It was kind of like Desperate Housewives go crazy bitch kind of book though, yes ma’am!😄

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I keep saying it, but these gifs of yours are so great!. Sounds like another great read. I kind of love psychological dramas, especially with storylines such as these. It can be a bit taxing when a story is told from 4 different views, I have had problems with reading books like that in the psst too, but 4 stars is still awesome…just like the awesomeness of the woman that wrote this review! 😊😊😘😘❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This sounds interesting. I love a book that portrays a female protagonist any day. Will check this one out.

    Like

  4. Dani I don’t think it was just you on this one. I also gave it a 4 because I had trouble keeping track of who was who, they just didn’t stand out from one another enough that I had to keep reminding myself who’s POV I was reading. The plot behind it was great though. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: